International Encyclopedia of Uniform Insignia
Chuck Anderson
ADMINISTRATOR
ADMINISTRATOR
Location: University Place (Pierce County,State of Washington)

Royal Navy Warrant Officers' Positions

Hi Everyone!

I have a couple of questions about the Warrant Officer ranks of the Royal Navy.

(1) Warrant Officer Class I
[Rank Insignia: Royal Coat of Arms]
(a) What positions within the Royal Navy could a person of this rank hold?
(b) How would a person of this rank in the Royal Navy be addressed?
(c) Would a person of this rank be considered to be like a Master CPO?

(2) Warrant Officer Class II
[Rank Insignia: Crown within a Wreath]
(a) What positions in the Royal Navy could a person of this rank hold?
(c) Would a person of this rank be considered to be like a Senior CPO?

Thanks!!!

Chuck Anderson
cbakiteskites@yahoo.com
I'm NOT a Civilian.....I'm A VETERAN!!!!
(USAF Veteran)
jrichardn
VISITOR
VISITOR

Someone else will know the years when the changes but took place, but ...

What's now PO and CPO used to be PO2 and PO1.

What's now WO2 and WO1 were CPO2 and CPO1.

(This was true in the Royal Canadian Navy at unification in '68. I think it was true in the RN at that time, too.)

STANAG 2116 makes RN's WO1 equivalent to USN's MCPO (OR9) and WO2 to SCPO (OR8).

In the old days in the RN (shown in Justin's wonderful pages) Warrant Officer was equivalent to Acting Sub-lieutenant (USN Ensign), and Commissioned WO to Sub-lieutenant (USN Lt j.g.).

Cheers, Richard Nelson
Chuck Anderson
ADMINISTRATOR
ADMINISTRATOR
Location: University Place (Pierce County,State of Washington)

Hi Richard!

Thank you so much for your information.

I was also wondering how the two Royal Navy Warrant Officer ranks were addressed (or otherwise referred to).

For example, the highest ranking Warrant Officer grade in the Royal Navy, (the one with the Royal Coat of Arms), is eqivalent to what, Regimental Sergeant-Major in the Royal Army?